No-sodium Blue Marlin with Lemon Recipe

Do you know the ideal sodium intake is just a teaspoon? And when I say sodium, I’m not just talking about salt. It includes anything with sodium (or a dash of saltiness) such as cheese, butter, soy sauce, catsup, and all processed food and canned goods.

Ever since I learned about this, as well as the danger of having too much salt in the body, I decided to consume less of it by TRYING (yes, trying! I still need a lot of discipline with regards to food) a low to no-sodium diet.

But how do you do that?

You substitute salt with herbs and spices!

Here’s one recipe I just figured out a couple of hours ago:

  • 1 pc blue marlin
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp Spanish paprika
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp cumin powder
  • 1/2 lemon

 

1. Squeeze the lemon, making sure both sides of the fish are perfectly covered.

2. Add the herbs and spices.

3. Set the fish aside for at least an hour (I didn’t, though, because I wasn’t that patient, but I definitely feel it will taste a lot better when marinated for a bit).

4. Heat the pan and pour oil.

5. Slowly place the fish, wait for five minutes, and turn the other side. See to it both sides are cooked (it should turn a little brown), but don’t overcook it (or let it sit in the pan for so long). You want to keep the fish’s tenderness.

6. Then serve!

I would have loved to add some tomatoes, but I couldn’t find any.

How does it taste? It tastes good! 🙂 It has its hint of spiciness, the entire dish is fragrant, and the ingredients don’t overpower the real taste of the fish. I had a grand time cooking and eating it. I paired with a bowl of brown rice, and finished my lunch by downing Yakult.

Yup, it’s a healthy, healthy lunch for me.

2 Comments on “No-sodium Blue Marlin with Lemon Recipe”

  1. Meream says:

    Oh man, this just made me realize that my diet is all kinds of unhealthy. 😀


Leave a Reply

