My Atopic Dermatitis Protocol

So how’s my skin asthma doing? The rashes have got very small you wouldn’t notice them unless I stay under broad daylight or you stand very close to me and I tell you about it.

It’s itchy, yes, but very tolerable. Thank God, the rashes didn’t spread out too quickly–I only had them in both my arms–and my palms no longer had them. Perhaps it also helped I was so maarte I immediately sought the help of a good dermatologist.

Right now, I’m on Claricort (a kind of anti-allergy steroid, my sinusitis doctor told me). The derma already warned me I should be eating a lot. So far, it hasn’t happened yet, which I think is good.

She also suggested a moisturizing soap, Oilatum, as skin asthma usually worsens with dry skin. Cetaphil was the first option, but I tried it before, and I just developed an acne breakout. I may shift to Baby Blue later once my skin clears up completely. It’s more organic and still unscented.

I also created my own protocol based on what I read online. Based on my reading, they are the ones that offer the highest rate of success:

  • Sleep early for 6 to 8 hours, with lights off.
  • Consume psyllium fiber with Yakult and water every morning.
  • Enjoy sunlight for at least 15 minutes each morning.
  • Avoid consuming meat, wheat, poultry, dairy, and sugar for at least a month.
  • Soak the affected area in apple cider vinegar every night.
  • Take quick baths twice a day.
  • Use Oilatum at least twice a day.
  • Consume Probiotics.
  • Supplement with turmeric capsules.
  • Exercise for at least 15 minutes.
  • Drink 2 cups of oolong tea with honey.
  • Reduce stress.

I haven’t tried any of them yet, so wish me luck.

5 Comments on “My Atopic Dermatitis Protocol”

  1. […] good-bye to October. Finally. A lot of good things happened, but overall it was a lousy month. I got sick, I touched my savings, my mental acuity went down the drain for a bit, I almost lost Chuck–it […]

  2. With your list of protocols, you’re bound also to lose weight! imagine?! fiber, probiotics, and no meat… I wouldn’t last long if I tried that!

    • lemonsito says:

      It’s such a struggle, Cath. I can no longer count the many times I’ve broken my own set of rules. 🙂 But I’ve already started exercising and cutting back on wheat, meat, and eggs. It’s been weeks since the last time I’ve eaten an egg.

  3. CharlieLIM says:

    hello, just happen to scroll to your blog and i have a skin problem that is with me for a while.. I have treated it with all known topical and oral meds. I have it checked with the laboratory with KOH test, turns out to have positive on fungus. Does skin asthma have positive lab test on KOH?

    • lemonsito says:

      Hi, Charlie,

      I am not sure. I didn’t go through that. I would suggest you talk to your dermatologist. One of the most important things, the doctor told me, is to keep the skin moisturized. Skin asthma usually occurs when the skin is very dry.


Leave a Reply

