Money-saving Tips in Less Than 15 Minutes

“We need to talk about how to save,” I said all of a sudden while Bernard was lazily lounging on the sofa, his eyes glued to Harry Potter: The Half-blood Prince.

“Okay,” he replied.

I no longer went up the stairs. Instead, I sat across him, face-to-face.

In less than 10 minutes, we’re done. Now, you may wonder, “What the heck did they talk about over a short span of time?” Fortunately, quite a number–and some of my pressing issues:

As much as possible, we should limit taxicab rides to once every time we go out.

The habit all started when the terminal for V-hires was moved in a very inconvenient place. I really don’t have to energy to travel for 10 minutes more, knowing I have to commute for around 15 to 20 minutes from our home in Cordova. With taxis, I can use the spare time for cleaning and sleeping.

Worse, I have to sit for a few more minutes for the other passengers to come around. Unfortunately, some drivers think my 25 pesos isn’t really worth for an air-conditioner.

And I find riding taxis very comfortable.

But it’s getting costly, we admit. So here’s what we decided. As much as possible, we’ll ride the taxi if we’re going to the city. Going back, we have to take the V-hire that goes straight to Cordova.

This may also mean that we should prefer daytime and afternoon activities, those that don’t get us stuck in the city past 8PM, unless we’re willing to open our wallets for another taxi ride.

We’ll limit our entertainment expenses. 

I do make a budget list every 15th of the month, and there you’ll find a section called miscellaneous expenses. It includes movies, dinners, food deliveries–everything that defines a want, really. Not surprisingly, the allotted amount is never enough.

So we need to cut back on that. We’ll have to choose the movies we’re going to watch (and since it’s the Avengers’ year and he doesn’t want to watch a movie alone ever again, I have to force myself to give in). If we can download it online, then we’ll do it.

We also need to reduce our food deliveries and be patient in cooking meals. We also agreed to go out to any restaurant we like at least twice a month.

We should also decrease our food. 

For a while, we debated. I want us to eat just once a day (after all, we’re getting bigger each year). That’s when his eyes bulged and without hesitation said no. So we compromised.

We’re going to eat twice a day–no breakfast; we somehow are not fond of it–reduce our cups of rice to one (so that means each of us gets a half), cook only once per day and save the rest for dinner, and eat more vegetables and fruit. Honestly, he doesn’t know about the last one, but since I’m the one who leads the groceries and makes the budget, he has to say yes to it.

There. Everything covered in 10 minutes. We’ll try all these this May. I’m crossing my fingers and hoping we’ll get to follow them.

Leave a Reply

